Everything is Brighter

My eyes are brown so dark they’re almost black When I open them wide and sunlight hits the irises there is a blue rim that lines them. Some people say I look like my mom. I look like my dad. But I think I just look like me. I like looking. I can look. I can read the words on a yellowing page I can see the tops of skyscrapers forgotten by the masses I can see the blue of the sky as if painted in one clear stroke I can see the face of my dad leathery, sad My boyfriend when he kisses me with blue crescents beneath his moon eyes. The one thing we can both see are the darkness and light that creep behind closed eyes. But that’s only technically speaking. I am sure we can see more.

Leave a Reply

